Oregon High School Students Receive Ninth Annual Greenfield Peace Writing Scholarship Awards


2017 Greenfield Peace Writing Scholarship Winners

From left to right: Keagan Rice, Kennah Watts, Jessyka Evans, and Brittany Ngia

PORTLAND, OR - Oregon Physicians for Social Responsibility was proud to honor four Oregon 11th and 12th graders at the ninth annual Greenfield Peace Writing Scholarship Awards Ceremony on Friday, April 28th at the First Unitarian Church in Downtown Portland. The winning students read their entries alongside a keynote speech from Alisha Moreland-Capuia, MD of OHSU.


Click here for video from the event on our Facebook page.

Click here to listen to the top three students interviewed by Cecil Prescod of KBOO Community Radio.

Read the winning entries here:

1st Place - Jessyka Evans, Tualatin High School, Tualatin

2nd Place - Keagan Rice, The Dalles High School, The Dalles

3rd Place - Kennah Watts, Oregon City High School, Oregon City

Honorable Mention - Brittany Ngia, Lakeridge High School, Lake Oswego


Winners of the 2017 Greenfield Peace Writing Scholarship with their families, staff of Oregon PSR, community judges, and keynote speaker Dr. Alisha Moreland-Capuia, MD